Cyber Learning & Research in Wales

About Cyber in Academia

Talent is a vital ingredient to any country’s success when tackling the cyber security skills shortage.

With innovative programmes such as the National Cyber Security Academy, where students work on live industry projects from day one of their undergraduate degree, and partnerships with tech leaders such as Microsoft at our further education colleges, Wales is producing business ready talent.

3,500 students each year leave our 8 Universities and 16 Further Education colleges in Wales with qualifications in ICT.

We pride ourselves on our quality education. We have 30 centres of excellence, 91 departments rated 4 star and above for research and 65 departments listed as excellent for teaching quality. With international recognition across numerous fields, there is plenty of opportunity to enhance your capability in the field of cyber security.

Higher Education in Wales

The University of South Wales (USW) is a major player in UK higher education. With campuses in Cardiff, Pontypridd and Newport, the University is renowned for its partnerships with major employers. These partnerships are one of the many reasons that 95% of our students are in employment or further study within six months of graduating.

At Cardiff University we are an ambitious and innovative university with a bold and strategic vision located in a beautiful and thriving capital city. Our world-leading research was ranked 5th amongst UK universities in the 2014 Research Excellence Framework for quality and 2nd for impact. We provide an educationally outstanding experience for our students.

Cardiff Metropolitan University is a thriving and modern university. Integral to the city of Cardiff for more than 150 years, we continue to invest in our students’ future with a focus on student employability and enhancing the student experience​ providing education and training opportunities of the highest quality to students from over 140 countries worldwide.

Swansea University is a world-class research-led university located in beautiful parkland with views across Swansea Bay close to the Gower Peninsula, the UK’s first Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The University was established in 1920 and currently offers around 500 undergraduate courses and 150 postgraduate courses to 15,921 students.

The University of Wales Trinity Saint David (UWTSD) was formed on 18 November 2010 through the merger of the University of Wales Lampeter and Trinity University College Carmarthen, under Lampeter’s Royal Charter of 1828. On the 1 August 2013, Swansea Metropolitan University became part of UWTSD.

Aberystwyth University offers a broad range of degrees. It was the first university in Wales, established in 1872. Located on the coast, the university's campus enjoys spectacular views over the sea. The university is an integral part of the friendly town affectionately known as 'Aber', which is a vibrant cultural hub and one of the safest places to study in the UK.

Founded in 1884, Bangor University has a long tradition of academic excellence and a strong focus on the student experience. Around 11,000 students currently study at the University, with 650 teaching staff based within twenty three Academic Schools. Bangor University is ranked in the top 40 in the UK for research according to Research Excellence Framework 2014.

Wrexham Glyndŵr University is a vibrant, friendly place where each student’s learning and future is given personal attention. Our name comes from Welsh scholar and hero Owain Glyndŵr and we aim to champion some of the same philosophies. We’ve been delivering education at our main Wrexham campus since 1887 and we've come a long way since then.

Join Now

Ready to get involved? Sign up FREE to become a member of the Cyber Wales Ecosystem.